This is a very belated post – and a very short one – on why I chose my mentor.

As with everything I did my homework. One of the go-to people in our regional network (which I have before, and will again wax lyrical about) is Emily – who is the library manager at what was NHS Manchester, on Twitter as: @emilylovedhim . She gave me lots of great advice about what to look for and also recommended I check out the (dated) mentor list on the CILIP website. I also got the opportunity to chat to her in-depth about it at a copyright event we were on together. If you were there – we are the table who won the Haribo and then were gracious enough to share them with you losers 🙂 She spoke about how she personally benefited from having  a mentor outside of our sector, as it gave her the opportunity to get a ‘different’ perspective on things, but also that this was not for everyone. If, as I first summarised LCC stood for Lancashire Cricket Club, it would have been the perfect! Getting charted and the possibility of meeting Bumble?? sweet.

Initial disappointment aside – I looked through the list and saw a wide variety including health, and given are (once) unique situation public sector in the same building mentors. However one name stood out – Gil Young. Gil is quite recent in post within our regional NHS network, but had before that worked within the academic sector. More importantly worked within NOWAL – which focused upon the importance of CPD. I felt this was the best of both worlds.

I made sure Gil was still available as a mentor and arranged to meet up with her. It was only upon the meeting it became apparent to me, how much of a good fit Gil would be for me – first off – she knows what she is talking about, a massive plus in my book. Secondly – she was very up front about setting out what she expected from me, what I was to expect from her etc. This setting off boundaries is very important, as without them I can drag work out – it never being perfect, and never to be truly finished until it is. I am hopeful that Gil sees the ability in me to complete. obviously it is also a good way to get to know Gil professionally throughout the next 12 (10) months.

So that is, very briefly how I got my chartership mentory person on!

