Why I am Chartering? Is Circumspect a deadly sin?

Another belated post – Why I am chartering NOW. This is a post I hope to update as I develop.

Why would I charter now? I have just completed 2 very disappointing years on the part time MMU course, my faith in the concept of CILIP (considering what is happening to my local public library service) is at a all-time low – not even discussing the decision to withdraw the mainly London-based overpriced training that was available, work is evolving at a massive and exciting rate, I work for a PCT in 2011, I am getting married in November (have I mentioned that 😉 ), I have a dissertation to write etc. etc.  I have too much on – don’t I? All those are good reasons as to why I should not. Yet some are also reasons why I should:

  • The post-graduate ‘librarian’ qualification is no longer enough. It may because I do not want to step ‘back’ in my next post to being an assistant-librarian (no disrespect to those who are of course) but I would be looking for at least a full librarian post and hopefully another library manager position at somewhere larger. I believe the chartership is necessary to achieve this – because it the post-graduate doesn’t give you the required skills? Quite possibly. this is the main reason. Chartership will allow me to develop professionally to level I belive I should be at – or at least confirm where I am. This is not an ego thing (see below for that), If I lost my job tomorrow, I would go back to bar work, or factory work if I had to.
  • Complex/Vibrant/Challenging work – I believe this is the perfect time to do the chartership – it is possible to introduce a new level of reflection. I am a strong believer in pushing positive change through in  difficult times. Why wait for the steady waters? This being said – despite the uncertain future, at this time I am steady. I have a strong support network – including a manager who believes in me. Why not now?
  • Arrogance – There are people in am aware of (and personally know) who are chartered – and I believe I am better than them. Once I am on the level playing field, then the work I do means more.
  • Jealousy – There are people within the local network who are ‘the’ person on a particular topic, and on a professional level I am jealous. if you want a random britpop track or a suitable Simpsons quote – I am your man. However professionally I am not there yet. I hope chartership, whilst not giving me the skills, will enable me to reflect on my own skill set, show where I need improvement, but also where I excel. do you ever get the ‘jack of all trades’ feeling? I do.
  • ‘Just’ Because – Why not? why not push myself constantly? I do it in the gym,why not at work
  • Being Better – I am sure it will make me a better librarian, and a better NHS staff member. it may even make me a better person.

 I am sure there are other reasons why I want to do this – which I will no doubt add later. But for now – lets stick with these 🙂

Let me know what you think.

Michael

4 thoughts on “Why I am Chartering? Is Circumspect a deadly sin?

  1. Or MC Lip, like MC Hammer but way cooler. Ahem.

    Some really interesting points Michael, and links in quite nicely about what I’ll be talking to you all about next Friday.

Leave a Reply

