This is just going to be a quick blog post about why I have started the Prince2 foundation course and why I think it is important for my development.

Project management is something I do already, and something I do quite well if unstructured – often by learning from experiences, both positive and negative. I am doing this course not only to show that I have these skills, but also to fill any gaps in my knowledge there may be. I think this is vital to give me a more rounded approach to how I manage projects – especially considering it is a accredited and standardised approach. I am hopeful that this will reduce the time I currently spend on projects, often micro-managing them in such a way that I do most of the work myself.

It is also important because it is an e-course (self-funded) that is run through INFocus/ILX Group. I have not embraced pure e-learning as much as I should have, as the only real encounters I have had with it have been through work-based mandatory training. It is broken down into 8 sections – from introduction, covering the aspects of Prince2 through to mock-exams. There is an exam on September 27th 2011. Eeep! I am looking forward to it, though I know I need to put real effort into it if I want to pass, and possibly more importantly give myself the time to put the effort into it.

Michael

