Thing 12 – in danger of outing oneself as a pompous tosser #CPD23

I think the Thing description really does a good job of outlining the importance of social networking from a professional standpoint. I think social networking can give a voice to the voiceless so to speak, maybe those who do not get an opportunity or do not like face to face networking. I myself do not like it, there were people I ‘knew’ via Twitter who were at the CILIP CDG AGM in Manchester in June, who I didn’t introduce myself to, but was happily tweeting the day after. It can put you in contact with many others, which can be an advantage – how can communicating with potentially 1000’s of peers be a bad thing, but this can be a negative also. The only censorship you have is yourself, so potentially you can say things, possibly best left unsaid to current/potential employers, or out yourself as a bit of a pompous tosser. It can be hard not to in 140 characters!

Up until tonight (6/10/11) I would say that I had not kept in touch with ‘new’ folk. During Things 1 and 2 I checked out a wide variety of blogged & even intended to produce a feed just for all these wonderful blogs from such a wide variety of folk. But then I just reverted back to what I knew, sometimes literally in people I know ‘in real life’ and in other cases within NHS fields. However this evening I contributed in #uklibchat which I won’t explain – just click on the link! I got the opportunity to contact and communicate with people I had never really done with before, for no other reason than professional development. I found it a genuinely enlightening and worthwhile experience and am going to contribute on another one of these. It may even help me develop further links elsewhere.

I think social networking can help foster, but there has to be a common bond between people. Otherwise communication may be forced or one way. There is also the question of ‘What is community?’ but I shall leave that for the 2nd year sociology students to discuss.

4 thoughts on “Thing 12 – in danger of outing oneself as a pompous tosser #CPD23

    1. Thanks – i found it really useful! I’m deffo going to have a think and a play with wikis to see how if there is a way they can be used (safely) with a collaborative project such as CPD23

Leave a Reply

