Thing 4: Current awareness – Twitter, RSS and Storify #CPD23

It has been a while (5 months in fact), but I have decided to restart #CPD23 as I feel it is a very useful CPD activity. Last years #CPD23 entries towards the end became quite negative, which really isn’t me, so these will be more positive

Current Awareness is something I have a strong passion for both in my professional position and as a professional, if that makes sense.

Professionally – current awareness provision to my organisation is a key component of my role. The library blog here – http://boltonpctlibrary.wordpress.com/ is the current awareness hub for the library and I actually use RSS feeds to manage the flow of information (I collate over 50 different sources and the appraise the results on a daily basis). RSS feeds are wonderful for this. Unfortunately my organisation actually blocked them, so I use Google i-reader as a way round that! I also use RSS feeds as one of my main current awareness tools for my personal professional development – you can view that here: http://www.google.com/reader/bundle/user%2F15015666129539122904%2Fbundle%2FLibrary_Michael%27s%20EBP%20Feed

I am quite a big proponent of Twitter, as a communication, as a marketing and as a current awareness resource, again both within my professional role and for myself in a ‘profesonal’ capacity, if you will. Professionally, I represent both the library service and the JSNA website – Bolton’s Health Matters. As a professional, I tend to use Twitter as an ad-hoc resource for current awareness, as it can be harder to spot. I should use the list functions more (I do on the other Twitter accounts). I feel Twitter is useful for finding the hidden gems within best practice rather than a standard resource.

I have only signed up to Storify for Thing 4, and I have to say my first impressions are very positive. I have seen a lot of people use it, but I was not sure whether it would be for me or would it be another Quora! I can see uses for it as an alternative way to share current awareness for my users and my own needs, though I would be interested to see if it can be ‘linked’ to wordpress (which it seems to export quite easily. If this is the case, then that is wonderful). I think it would be useful for narrative pieces and especially reflective pieces. It also seems like a potentially interesting way to produce case studies. I will have to play. Thank you Thing 4!

Leave a Reply

