Date: 4th October 2016

Number: 38

Significant Experience: I undertook an e-learning module on active listening

What Happened?: As part of my assertiveness action plan, i felt that I needed to improve my listening skills – specifically my active listening skills. To help me on this I undertook an e-learning module from academy10.

So What?: This course has helped me bring together learning on active listening from other sources and clarify it into designated points of action required for me to improve this skill. I am not an expert ‘active listener’ but feel I now have a foundation on what to build on.

Now What?: This learning will help me develop my active listening skills. I am aware of what areas I need to develop in this area (better concentration & focus on speaker, asking open questions, reserving judgement/keeping an open mind, and not interupting/finishing an individuals thoughts for them). This will improve my communication with colleuages for a better outcome, whilst also improving my confidence in situations and my assertiveness to help me devlop my career as I shall be able to gain a better understanding of situations.

When & Where?: The Office, 4th October

 

Key Notes on Active Listening

  • Active listening requires concentration and energy
  • Active listening involves:
    • Paying attention
    • Suspending judgement and evaluation
    • Being respectful
    • Asking questions
    • Checking your understanding of what the other person has said
  • Tips:
    • face the speaker – sit up or lean forward to show that you are paying attention
    • respond appropriately – show that you understand by nodding and asking questions on particular points
    • focus on the words of the speaker – try not to think about what you intend to say next
    • keep an open mind – let the speaker finish, don’t make assumptions about what the speaker is thinking
    • ask for clarification – this prevents misunderstandings; wait until the speaker has finished and then you can paraphrase their words, e.g. ‘so you are saying.’
