Learning Log 57: PKSB for PDR

Date: 112th April 2017

Number: 55

Significant Experience: I produced my second CILIP Professional Knowledge & Skills Base (PKSB) to support my professional development review (PDR) within my host organisation with my line manager

What Happened?:To support my first PDR/appraisal in 3 years, I thought it would be useful to re-do CILIP’s PKSB that I had first done in March 2016 prior to starting the Knowledge for Healthcare Leadership Programme. Unfortunately, the professional development ‘offer’ had been pre-decided on perceived need at a departmental level, so my effort was, for this intention, was wasted.

So What?: Despite the lack of interest in my stated professional aims, I found the process of updating the PKSB to be very useful when framing what I believe to be my professional needs in terms of development. It was also very useful to compare it to March 2016 PKSB in which I had over 80 development needs!

Now What?: Moving forward I shall use the PKSB to identify development opportunities that I believe will benefit me professionally and enable me to provide the best service for my users enabling better decision making within public health commissioning.

When & Where: 12th -18th March 2017,

March 2017 PKSB Full Report.

Leave a Reply

